It's alive, It's alive. :) Woodguy Toolhaul Story Completion

Status
Not open for further replies.

woodguy1975

New User
John
Well, after a few days acting as an industrial electrician I have all three of my machines up and running. The edge sander is powered and plumbed for DC. The W&H molder is powered with a hookup for DC when in use. The big one was the 3 spindle shaper.

3spindleshaper_small.jpg

Most of you know about this tool, but it has 3 spindles that are driven by 5 Hp 3 phase motors. I bought a 10 HP rotary phase converter to power this and future 3 phase machines. I put the phase converter in my closet with my compressor and ran the 3 phase power feed out with a 50amp single phase 220V breaker feeding it. After doing the final terminations I powered the phase converter. The idler came up and I was seeing power at the 3 phase outlet. A quick flip of the switches on the shaper and around the spindles went. Wew. :eusa_clap The only hitch was the spindles were going the wrong way, but a quick flip of two of the legs fixed that and I was off. The phase converter has plenty to run all three motors at the same time as long as I don't try to start them all at the same exact moment. An hour of DC work and I'll be back to woodworking. :icon_thum :icon_thum

Pics to come. Too tired tonight. :D

John

Monty

New User
Monty
I would say you suck. But you know that already. :lol:

Congrats on getting that thing started up! :icon_thum

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Wow, that's one awesome machine. I am glad you got it up and running. Are you running out of room in that shop yet???
Dave:)

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
Great job John.:icon_thum Do those motors have reversing switches on them so you can run the spindles in either direction if needed?

D L

cskipper

Cathy
I know you are glad to get that done! Speaking of running out of room - I just wanted to renew my offer to keep your Hawk safe in my shop!:lol:

Steve D

Steve DeWeese