Finish for western cedar

Status
Not open for further replies.

tjgreen

New User
Tim
Hello. I'm making a few picture frames out of western cedar - looking for a southwestern feel to match some family photos from a cross-country trip a few years back. I've never worked with it before, any suggestion on a good natural finish for them? Was thinking tung oil (my default choice), but not sure how that would work on such a porous wood. I don't plan to stain, just want to enhance/protect the color of the wood.

Tim

PChristy

New User
Phillip
Hi Tim, I have built one frame out of the WC and all I did was shoot it with some rattle can Satin Poly - enhanced the wood grain a little and it turned out ok - sorry I don't have a picture of it - put the poly will protect it as well -

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Just about any finish would work fine for this application. I probably wouldn't chose Tung Oil (true 100% oil) due to the long cure time. I am a big fan of a home brewed Danish Oil type finish which is roughly 1 to 1 to 1 ratio of BLO, MS, and Gloss Poly.
What kind of sheen level are you looking for??
Rattle can shellac and lacquer are also great choices.

Dave:)

Last edited:

sapwood

New User
Roger
. . . I am a big fan of a home brewed Danish Oil type finish which is roughly 1 to 1 to 1 ratio of BLO, MS, and Gloss Poly.
. . .

I'll second that.
Here's a western cedar project finished with BLO, MS, and Poly. Of course, after 2 1/2 years outdoors it doesn't look as good as this pic anymore, but it's holding up fine.

Roger

Robb Parker

New User
Robb
You might try Waterlox Marine finish. It's a modified oil finishthat builds well and has a much shorter cure time.
Robb

Robb Parker

New User
Robb