New Raleigh guy here

Status
Not open for further replies.

jarrett

New User
Jarrett
Hi folks,

I'm Jarrett, fairly new to NC and also to woodworking. I started out with a power mitre saw, but after a couple of episodes of The Woodwright's Shop and reading "Hand Tool Essentials", got to thinking about using more hand tools. I sold off the power saw before moving here and am now recently starting up woodworking again, which is difficult as I'm in a condo. But, I'm a software engineer by trade, so it's nice to be able to make something you can hold in your hands at the end.

I'd like to learn more about Chinese joinery in the future, but I guess baby steps are in order, and I see myself practicing straight cuts for a while. The "ease" of power tools tempt me, but I feel that once I get my basics down, I'll be able to do a lot more with just a basic set of tools. I guess I'm still learning how expensive these hand tools are, though!

Right now I'm trying to figure out a good Western saw to start out with, and my eye's on some Crown Tools saws. Any advice on which to start out with for basic joinery? Gent's? Dovetail? Anything must be better than the x-acto saw I'm using right now.

Hope to take a local class soon and looking forward to learning from the group!

MrAudio815

New User
Matthew
Hey Jarrett,

Welcome to the Site, This is a great place for advice and all kinds at that.

Anyway I am not into the hand tools to much, but I wouldn't turn down a lesson or two.

I do know that it is nice to make something you can hold in your hands and one way and a very fast way to do it is on a Lathe... Check this out http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/f32/fun-cherry-burl-21792/ This guy DaveO is awesome, he actually gave me his old Habor Freight Lathe and I am having a blast. It Instant Gratification!!! Within two hours or so you're done and have a nice Item to share with the world.

Anyway Sorry Jarrett... Don't know much about hand tools.

Enjoy NCWW,

jarrett

New User