Matte or flat finish for patio table?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RandyJ

Randy
Corporate Member
Since I'm new at this, I thought I'd ask the braintrust for suggestions. LOML recently purchased a patio table that has what appears to be, a cedar or cypress top. I like the look of the wood but realize we need to protect it from water rings left by drinks:drunken_s . It is on a covered/screened porch, but occasionaly gets wet from blowing rains. She doesn't want a shiny finish on it. What would be the best product to protect the wood without changing the color much or being too shiny? Thanks in advance for your help!
Take care,

PS Before anyone asks why I didn't build it, it is a black wicker base with matching wicker chairs, and I don't do wicker!!!!

RandyJ

Randy
Corporate Member
With all the finishing experts on the site, I would have bet money SOMEONE would have responded to my question:lol: .
Did I make everyone angry and now I'm getting the cold shoulder:crybaby2: ?
Sorry if I did....

DavidF

New User
David
PappyJ said:
With all the finishing experts on the site, I would have bet money SOMEONE would have responded to my question:lol: .
Did I make everyone angry and now I'm getting the cold shoulder:crybaby2: ?
Sorry if I did....

PappyJ - I am SURE that is not the case. There are so many postings on the site now with all the new members that to keep up with them all is tricky. There have been many postings recently about protecting adirondack chairs that are out side made in these woods.

http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/showthread.php?t=3584&highlight=adirondack

http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/showthread.php?t=3484&highlight=adirondack

I don't normally like to just point members with questions at a thread link, but in this case you might find the info you need as I have no direct experience with this topic. Hope something works for you.

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames