Jim from Apex

Status
Not open for further replies.

ncguy77

New User
Jim
Electrical engineer by trade.

Built my own house (except foundation/drywall/roof) in 1989. 4 BR victorian with stained 4" fluted HR Maple casings throughout. 2x6 outer walls.

Did 100 sqft of corian counter top for kitchen refurb a few years ago. Got material from solidsurfacesurplus before it seems they jacked up their prices. Granite is so cheap now I dont see how Corian is still doing business. Presently looking for a 80"x10" black (mostly) corian slab for some weird project I'm doing.

Mainly doing a lot of refurb on rooms with built in cabinets, granite, embedded tile & glass work.

Recently laid 500 sqft of Lumber Liquidator Braziliian Cherry (Ipe). Very pretty, very hard, very nasty splinters like shards of glass.

Recently laid 80 sqft of 6x12 slate for a corner gas fireplace plus some 1x2 mosaic for a barrel vault.

Woodworking dream -

• Build another house that merges Green&Green Blacker House with Susanka "Not So Big" design philosophies. Contract out everything except final trim.
  • Build a mini version of Blacker porte cochere with Ipe timbers.
  • Have the time to make 5-10 G&G furniture pieces plus a bunch of G&G built-ins and staircase.
  • Make a mega-wide G&G front door for it
  • Hey what the heck while I'm at it - make a stained glass piece for it
Equipment lineup:

• 3HP grizzly cab saw
  • Delta unifence (suffered with the Grizzly fence WAY too stupidly long)
  • Just burned up a Dewalt miter saw and replaced with Hitachi (don't know if that was wise)
  • Projects done mainly in the 3rd bay of unheated garage
  • Unused Porter Cable DT jig that i plan to use in the next few weeks
  • Dewalt biscuit joiner which I use a ton
  • bunch of Bessey K clamps
  • Grizzly drill press rattle trap that has a ton-o-runout
  • Bosch 3HP router plus a Dewalt 3-handle router
  • Jet 6" joiner

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell