How do you get smooth results from a jointer ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jon

New User
Jon Todd
I'm new to using a jointer and would like to know whats the best way to feed a board across the jointer. I have the Byrd head but its not as smooth as I thought it would be. Can you use feather boards to keep the pressure steady?

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
once you have the board started across the cutter head, keep pressure firm and consistent on the outfeed side of the cutter head. Practice makes better, but not always perfect. you can practice technique on some cheap pine stock until you get it right.

junquecol

Bruce
Senior User
Push blocks are the way to go. Woodworker's Supply carries a set for less than $20. I don't know what kind of rubber they use on soles, but it really grips. They also have one with a "shoe" that drops down to feed back edge of board. Don't use your fingers, as you will quickly have three fingers that are all the same length. And a whole lot of bloody mess to clean up, after you get back from emergency room. Jointers are only the first step in "cleaning up stock." Scraping or sanding are still required. I understand from other posts that Byrd Heads leave tiny ridges that have to be removed by either sanding, or scraping. I know that my Delta lunch box planer leaves a better surface than my 15" Delta planer. Both need to be sanded/ scraped.

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
oh, yeah, forgot the push blocks. absolutely have to use them.

I don't usually experience 'ridges' with my byrd head until the teeth are a bit old, and then it seems like the wood is almost polished between the slight highpoints. changing feed speed may reduce this effect.

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User
I'm new to using a jointer and would like to know whats the best way to feed a board across the jointer. I have the Byrd head but its not as smooth as I thought it would be. Can you use feather boards to keep the pressure steady?