Hello from Petaluma, CA

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnpipe108

New User
John Meshkoff
Hi,

First let me say thank you for extending the invitation to those of us who had been using the now defunct woodworking-galleries.org.

I'm a retired electrical engineer (Power Systems and High Voltage Power Supplies, at what is now IMATRON division of GE Medical Systems). I'm a linux user, Scottish Highland and Irish Uillean bagpipe player, Harry Potter fan, woodworker, philosopher, and other odds and ends!

Most of my woodworking turns out to be tool jigs and improvements, and things wanted or needed that I can learn to build for myself or my family.
I've never yet made anything for sale, as I'm as skilled as most woodworkers at making mistakes!

I'm also a woodnetter, as that was the first woodworking forum I learned of after acquiring new shop tools once I had woodworking space available again.

My woodworking has been scattered a bit over time; I haven't always had woodworking space and opportunity, and just got my first major tools a year and a half ago: Table Saw, Router, Biscuit Joiner, and a new mini-lathe.
Prior to that my tool collection consisted of a Makita 110mm circular saw (small!), an H. Disston & Sons broad-bladed crosscut saw that once belonged to the Grandfather of a late carpenter-friend, the usual collection of back saw, coping saw, hack saws, a few chisels, hammers, drills and wrenches.

I used to live closer to you North Carolinians; I grew up in Alexandria and Fairfax Counties, Virginia, but fate took me eventually to California. I can just recall that when very young (probably between 3 and 6 years of age) that we traveled to North Carolina in the summertime to visit friends or relations. It's a pity I have no detailed memory of that visit.

Once again, thanks for inviting us aboard.

Johnpipe108

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio