Does Porter Cable still make these???

Status
Not open for further replies.

mshel

New User
Michael Shelley
I thought someone on this site posted a picture of one of these some time back and was wondering if they are still made. It seems to me that I did see one somewhere on the PC site but that may have been during one of those late nite internet romps and my eyes may have been playing tricks on me.:lol: Anyway, I like the locomotive look, don't you?

portercable-2.JPG

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
Mike, Amazon has the PC 503 on their site but it states it is not currently available so I don't know if it has been discontinued or they just no longer carry it. The PC 503 is a 3" x 24" heavy duty belt sander.

D L

B0000222XE.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V1112648151_.jpg

Last edited:

ChrisC

New User
Christopher Cain
Mike,

I was the one that posted that pic:
07-26-20042.JPG

I have used these sanders for years, I was a professional cabinetmaker for several years. I can tell you that these are the BEST belt sanders ever made, and I have used many brands.

Now, the bad news. PC don't make these anymore. They stopped making the 503 in 2004, and stopped making the 504(the no dustbag model, in 2005 from what I understand.) This one was the last one that Klingspor had,and it was the display model.

I would suggest looking for a used one, or you might find a new one somewhere that a dealer may still have( at $450-500, this is VERY possible). Right off hand I would suggest calling Tarheel Filing in Raleigh, and see if they have one in the back of the warehouse, or calling Specialty Tool on Atlantic Ave. They do a lot of repair work, and they may have a used one that someone never picked-up.

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
SteveColes said:
Is the 503 that better than the 301?

Uh oh................Me thinks Steve is feeling the onset of WGD and is looking for something new, improved and shiny. Stay tuned for a PC 301 near you to be offered for sale at a discounted rate shortly.:lol: