Chatham Co. Woodworker/sawmiller

Status
Not open for further replies.

William Roscoe

New User
William
Hello everyone, I'm a woodaholic. I've loved woodworking for most of my life. I began by working out of my garage 25 yrs. ago. Designing, making, and re-making( Mostly self taught skills and a lot of reading) just about everything you could imagine. I aquired 127 acres of forest land in rural Bear Creek about 6 or 7 years ago and decided to purchase a bandsaw mill. Then I built a solar kiln to dry all of this lumber. Then I finished my dream workshop, complete with a spray room. Haven't had much time to actually work in it because of all of my "chors" ,etc. I hope to catch up some day and get back to what I love the best. WOODWORKING ( although sawmilling kind of grows on ya )

dancam

Dan
Corporate Member
Hey William,

Welcome to the site. You'll enjoy the camaraderie and free flow of info. Always good to have another sawyer in the group.

Look forward to seeing some pictures.

Dan C.

M

McRabbet

Welcome to the site, William -- seems you're not the only sawyer in the Chatham County area -- Scott Smith (scsmith42) from New Hill has a bandsaw mill and a kiln, too. We'd love to see pics of your sawing operation and your workshop. And hopefully, you'll make some time to get back into the shop for some projects, too.

Happy to have you join us. Rob

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
William - welcome to the site! I just joined a few weeks back, but have already found this to be an outstanding group of folks.

I'm on the opposite side of Chatham County, but one of your Bear Creek neighbors - Gary Ellis - did some work on my farm a few years back, and Nester over at B&B Tire sent a crew out to put new tires on one of my tractors. Lots of good folks around there.

Would love to stop by and see your "dream shop" one day!

Regards,

Scott