Wood shaper reviews

Status
Not open for further replies.

bella

New User
bella
Hi,

I am new and would like some help from the members who have a wood shaper. Interested in rail and stiles and also raised panels. Want to get a 3 HP, 220v, single phase unit. Anyone have any recommendations especially to name brand, ease of set-up, and reliability?

Thank you,
Bella

Last edited:

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
Bella, the Help Desk forum is really meant for problems with the functioning of the site. SO I have moved Your Post to a more approriate forum.

Welcome to our site.:icon_thum If you haven't already, you might want to introduce yourself in the "Who We Are" forum.

BTW, I'm sure someone who knows something about shapers will be along shortly to start answering your question.

b4man

New User
Barbara
Hi Bella,
Welcome to NCWW! I'm no expert in anything however, I do have the Delta benchtop shaper and wouldn't waste my money on it again.

There will be other responses from guys with a lot more experience than I.
At least I wanted to tell you what not to buy!:no:

Barbara

PeteQuad

New User
Peter
Hi bella, welcome to the site. I don't know much about shapers, but when I'm buying a piece of machinery I usually start out by checking out what's available on grizzly.com. It provides a good starting point regarding features and price points. Also, if you're planning to get a shaper, you might want to look into power feeders also.

merrill77

Master Scrap Maker
Chris
So I guess the obvious question is why not a router & table? Knowing the answer to that may help us answer your question more effectively. Most of us do rail & stile and raised panels on the router table. There is a much wider selection of bits readily available and they're less expensive. Are you setting up a production shop?

bella

New User
bella