Wine Cellar Project - WIP w/ Pics

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

McRabbet

I'm just getting started on a commission project to build a Wine Cellar storage unit for some friends and thought I'd share some preliminary stuff. It is another collaboration with Steve DeWeese.

Plan Elevation

The lower diamond and pullout bins are 19" deep and the upper shelves and vertical bottle bins are 14" deep -- center area is open to back wall for a future decorative tile back splash. Materials are White Oak plywood and White Oak banding and bin cleats; counter top and table are ribbon African Mahogany.

Here's a few more pics of the materials in the purchase to milling stages:

WO Ply & 65 BF of WO Afr. Mahogany (Rough/Milled)

Milled White Oak Afr. Mahogany Center Back and Table Glue up

The African Mahogany was found at Bee Tree Hardwoods in Swannanoa as 14 foot by 8-1/2" wide 5/4 rough stock at $4.75/BF and the W.O. plywood and White Oak came from Catawba Hardwoods in Hickory.

More to come.... Rob

DaveO

New User
DaveO
I'm just getting started on a commission project to build a Wine Cellar storage unit for some friends and thought I'd share some preliminary stuff.

More to come.... Rob

I can't wait to see what y'all work out.
Dave:)

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
Rob,

This sounds like an awesome project. Looks like a lot of very careful measurements to maintain the symmetry over a whole wall. I seem to remember Norm doing a wine cellar a few years ago... it was quite an undertaking. I'm really looking forward to some work-in-progress photos.

Is this your own design or did your client use a designer?

Ray

nelsone

New User
Ed
Looks like a great project. I have someone that expressed interest in a smaller version. Please post lots of pics! If you are willing to impart some advise, I may contact you when and if I get the project.

NZAPP1

New User
Nick
Looking forward to more WIP pictures keep us informed on this awesome project. :icon_thum Nick

M

McRabbet