Shopsmith motor question

Status
Not open for further replies.

clawofthebear

New User
Tony
Okay folks, this is a gloat and a sob story rolled into one. My brother and I have been remodeling my mom's house for the past six months. Complete tearout...only studs left when we started refinishing. My mom felt bad, because we have spent probably 5 hours a day for six months after our other jobs doing this without pay. So, she decided to get us something. My gift/payment was a Shopsmith Mark V that my brother found for an awesome deal :gar-Bi. I was very excited for about two days. That being said gloat is over....

The first day, I spent cleaning this thing. It had been in storage without use for about 5 years. The second day after getting home from working on drywall, after the regular 8 hours, I thought I had about a couple of hours of energy left in me. So I went to the shop, and decided to crank the thing up. Things went well for about 30 minutes, then the whole thing stopped working. :eek:

:BangHead::BangHead::BangHead::crossedlips::crossedlips::BangHead::BangHead::BangHead:

So my problem is...I have a new tool that I can't figure out on my own. I am not mechanically inclined, but since I can't afford to have it fixed, I am trying this myself. I have the headstock dismantled, and I wrote down where everything goes back, so I can possibly put it all back together. The motor hums, and then trips the breaker. No signs of burnt coil in motor windings. The problem is the motor shaft is not turning. Any suggestions or advice will be greatly appreciated. I would really like to get this thing going again, before my mom comes to visit for dinner and wants to see what she bought. I don't have the heart to tell her it is not working, since it was an as is purchase.

jmauldin

New User
Jim