Opinions on shop layout/dust collection plan

Status
Not open for further replies.

eyekode

New User
Salem
First a little bit about my shop situation: I have been working on creating a functional shop for a couple years now. I have 1/2 of a 2 car garage. I can also pull out SWMBO's car when I need some extra space. I also share this space with a couple bikes and a water heater.

I have mostly larger tools:
- table saw with 50" rails
- 18" bandsaw
- 15" planer
- 8" jointer
- 12x36 lathe
- 15" drill press
- Small OSS
- 10" SCMS
- router table
- etc etc

I currently have a 2HP Grizzly DC (which is for sale by the way :)). And as I need it I move around a ~15' long piece of 4" flexible tube to each of my machines. It is quite a pain. And the 15' duct work is always underfoot. Also it doesn't reach all of my tools. I don't have DC for my SCMS, drill press or my lathe. And I use a shopvac for the small OSS.

Here is my current layout (roughly):
garage.png

View image in gallery

I don't have a ton of room to walk around but the only tool I have to move to use is the planer.

I am open to ideas for rearranging tools but I don't have much hope. The way it is currently setup I can process 8+ foot long boards at every tool. The kicker for me is the huge table saw and almost equally large workbench. These are the two most used tools in my shop and I want good accessibility to them.

The big goal is to put in some permanent ducting and blast gates. In my current layout my major obstacle is the garage door.

Here is my proposed DC setup (I just drew it in with red magic marker :). All of it will be 6" pvc) :

At the end of each of the sticks is a drop. The plan still needs refinement. For example I can't decide how soon I should get the pipe to the ceiling/wall. It seems the inlet of most cyclones makes sure you have to make a pretty sharp bend if you want your pipe immediately running on the ceiling. That doesn't really make sense to me.

Anyway, your thoughts? Thanks!
Salem