Oh the shame of it.... a WWer without enough clamps!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Ok all. I am a long time woodworker, but get this, be prepared, maybe you should sit down....
I do not have enough clamps! I'm almost too embarrassed to sign my name to this public admission.

I am working on a big table project, a 10' long and 40" wide table. I plan to glue this up next week. I typically use a clamp every 6-8" on a glue up like this, so I figure I need about 14-16 clamps that will handle a 44-46" span. Well I have only 2 clamps that length (and have never really needed more than 2)! If it were 3' instead of 4' I would still have only half of what I need, but I'm not enough close to the amount I need with a 4' length.

So here's my proposition to someone in the Raleigh area willing to rent out their stash of 4' (minimum) clamps for a few days. I'd like to rent out 12 clamps - or at least a minimum of 8 - for a 3-4 days later next week. We can work out details - rental terms, security deposit, pick up and delivery dates - as desired.

This should be some fairly easy cash for someone, and who can't use a bit of extra cash in December? I would be willing to work out reasonable terms to your satisfaction.

Anyone willing to part with their long clamp stash for a few days? I know that I can go buy more clamps, but I doubt there will be too many more BIG projects like this in my future (it's almost too large for my shop).

E-mail me if you prefer to respond that way rather than the public response of the board.

Thanks

Henry
hwynands@ieee.org

zapdafish

Steve
Corporate Member
I got 4 pipe clamps in holly springs that should work if you can't find a single source for them. I don't need rent as long as you do the driving.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Great - thanks I'll get back to you once I see what other offers are out there.
Yes I would do the driving.

Thanks

MarkE

Mark
Corporate Member