Need a new Table saw blade

Westpacx3

Jim
Corporate Member
I'm fairly new to woodworking but I have a nice set of tools bought used from my Uncle when he moved. I'm currently using a sawstop professional 3hp unit with mostly a 60 tpi blade to avoid changing blades put as often. I have an assortment of Frued, Craftsman and Dewalt blades that I run through. However some leave the kerf marks on the edges or burn a little or leave the paint behind. As I search blades they seem to run from $30.00 to $200.00. Forrest, Ridged , CMT etc seem to be the market outside the box stores. I don't make fine furniture and am still doing boxes, crafts and frames but I want to achieve a quality product.

Having said all that, what are you folks using?

Is a $200.00 worth it?

Is there a good enough middle ground?

Or just bit the bullet and go big?

mpeele

michael
User
Some of the issues you mentioned might not be caused directly by the blade but could be caused by a dirty blade, miss aligned blade or fence. Before buying a new blade check those. Technique could also cause rough cut and burning. If you stop moving in a cut you can get burning. If you allow the material to drift away from the fence you'll get a poor cut.

Freud 50 tooth full kerf combination blade was the first carbide blade I ever bought. Before that I was using steel blades. At one time Forest had a program where you could buy a blade and return it if you didn't think it was better than what you were using. I bought a Woodworker blade and sent it back. It cut good but not any better than the Freud which cost about half as much. With a 3 hp saw I would only use a full kerf blade. Thin kerf blades a sensitive to feed rate. If i'm cutting something where I concerned with kerf width or the material is thin or small I use a 7 1/4" Diablo cross cut or rip blade.