Maybe building a deck

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark Stewart

New User
Mark
I have recently aquired a house and there is a room on one side where the water damage is extensive from rain damage. I was thinking maybe tear down the room and build a deck instead. My problem is trying to figure the cost I am new at this project esitimater kind of stuff and dont want to go over budget.. The deck will be 20L X 10W 16" spacing on the joist. flat on the groung on one end and 38" high on the other and attached th the house on one of the 20' sides. So where do I go from Here?:nah:

Thanks Mark

steviegwood

New User
Steven
I know that 84 lumber here has people who will come out and do the measuring and figure up a material list. As said Lowes has the online estimator. Other lumber suppliers may have something similar. Steve

Bigdog72

New User
Geoff
Let me understand this. You bought a house that is severely damaged by rain. You want to tear down one of the rooms on this house and construct a deck. Am I correct?

I guess the smartaleck question would be, can you post pictures? Usually, you really don't want to trade indoor living space for a deck. The deck usually gets added to the back/side of a house. :icon_scra

DaveO

New User
DaveO
The deck will be 20L X 10W 16" spacing on the joist. flat on the groung on one end and 38" high on the other and attached th the house on one of the 20' sides. So where do I go from Here?:nah:

Thanks Mark

Mark I don't know about code in your part of the state but here in the middle a deck's rim band must be above grade. The rim band is at minimum a 2x8 so the lowest you can go with a deck is about 12" above grade.

Dave:)

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Mark,