Large sander?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sharp Blade

New User
Anna-Catherine
Anyone know of a cabinet shop with an industrial sized planer and sander available for hire? I need to shave a few more pounds off my workbench top. It bowed on me because I clamped it up wrong...DUH! :BangHead: :BangHead:

Anna-Catherine

ashley_phil

Phil Ashley
Corporate Member
call Diversified & asked who they've sold one too. Or call J & G down in Sanford and ask the same question. BTW don't say I told you to call.

michaelgarner

New User
Michael
if you can make it down to Fayetteville area you can use Mine and Pete's 38in Wood master drum sander. Let us know if we can help.

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User
How much do you need to take off the bench top?

I am in Salisbury Anna-Catherine, much closer than Fayetville area. I have a 38" wide Woodmaster drum sander also.

Pending how much you need to take off------you may need a wide planer first. The sander works in thousandths--the planer works in 16ths or more.

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
We have a 20in planer, too, all told, about 25 combined horses :eusa_danc of stock removal machinery... too bad nothing to put it back with when we screw up!

junquecol

Bruce
Senior User
Give Toolferone a buzz. His store (Woodcraft) did a couple of workshops on building work benches. He will know who/how to get it done.

Sharp Blade

New User
Anna-Catherine
Guys, I will let you all know what I decide to do. I am too chicken to try the router...although I DID try it on another piece just to see how badly I could screw it up! LOL. I screwed it up.

Thanks Dave for moving the post. I forgot where I was again! LOL.

For this benchtop, I don't think anywhere is too far. LOL. Thhis is my first time making one so I want to fix it correctly. Again, I will let you all know what I want to do. Thanks so much for all your offers of help.

Anna-Catherine :-D

Sharp Blade

New User
Anna-Catherine
How much do you need to take off the bench top?