Hollow Chisel Mortiser

Status
Not open for further replies.

skeeter

New User
Charles
Sat. morning I'm on my way to get gas for my truck and get stopped for a traffic light. People at the house by the light are setting up for a yard sale and something catches my eye so I pull over. They are bringing out a mortiser. All that's on the name plate is "Mortising Machine Model MS3612 Made in China". Plate on motor says 1/2 HP, 3.9 Amps, 3400 RPM, Class E. The metal is a darkish blue color. It has a 1/4 bit and chisel installed and a new, still in box 1/2 and 5/8 bit & chisel. The small wood tabletop under the clamps has a small silver sticker which says RAND. Yes, it went home with me. (I know, "no picture, no gloat!" but my camera has gone crazy.)

My problem is that it has no instructions and I have never used a mortiser before. Is there anything special to do when changing bits & chisels or lining everything up???

Did I mention that it cost less that the 3/4 tk. of gas for my truck?

sapwood

New User
Roger
Great find Skeeter!

The specs appear to be better than the HF models. I have considered purchasing one, but they are only 2.3 amp with a 1/2 shank.

Hey, YOU SUCK!

Sapwood

Steve D

Steve DeWeese
Others can chime in with more specifics but I know that on mine you need to provide a little clearance for the bit within the chisel to avoid heating and that you need to make sure that you square the chisel to the fence. That's all I can think of off the top of my head. Sounds like a nice score :icon_thum

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User