HELP!!! I'm a mickey mouse woodworker....

Status
Not open for further replies.

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
Ok, its time to confess. I have very/extraordinarily bad work habits. The more I do the worse I seem to get.

I just can't figure a way out of my mindset.

I keep taking simple projects and making them into complex multi-part behemoths.

Here are some of my symptoms:

1. Refuse to waste scrap.
I keep going to my scrap pile to make lots of little parts instead of using a new piece. Case in point, a mantle I'm working on now has 27 parts glued and screwed to create a framework, when I could've done it by making a basic 4 sided box.

2. Keep trying to reinvent the wheel. I don't seem to like plans.

3. Know how, but don't have the real experience. I fear I've read and learned too much but not done enough. I can look at these projects knowing what to do, but not being setup to do it.

Case in point, a shooting board. Instead of building one and using it, I keep trying various clamping "solutions" that all work about 8% effectively and take 92% longer.

4. Keep buying more tools, books and videos. This is a good/bad habit. In reference to #3, I think I gots too much book learn'n.

So, any tips for me? This has become a real rut and I'm just plane old stuck in it. So stuck I'm not enjoying woodworking.

Jim

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
When I get out of whack I do a reset to zero.

Build some really simple projects using just one board. Sawbench, bookshelf, toolbox, etc.

If it takes more than one word to describe or one board to build it is too complex. Rustic is good.

Try to clear your mind and get back to basics.

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
Ok, its time to confess. I have very/extraordinarily bad work habits. The more I do the worse I seem to get.

I just can't figure a way out of my mindset.

I keep taking simple projects and making them into complex multi-part behemoths.

Here are some of my symptoms:

1. Refuse to waste scrap.