Headboard/Footboard Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rascal

New User
Dave
First Time Poster here.
I am a realatively novice WW only started about a year ago doing a variety of projects for the wife then slowly doing projects for myself. Anyways Basically I have been following plans (from books and online) with some very basic modifications to do my projects so far.

Well after my first piece of indoor furniture (a sofa table) met with approval from the better half. She now wants me to make a head board for a queensize bed. (followed by a footboard with chest and seats attached). So now I am at a point were I need to deviate from what plans and books I currently have and design/construct this.

Her requirements (IE nonnegotiable)
1) needs to be painted white (I hope this isnt against the rules on this site)
2) Needs to look like a picket fence

Limitations
I have no lathe ;/ so cylinderical things are out i suppose?

Anyways I had a few questions and would like to ask for some advice if there is any out there.

Q1) So since she just wants it white should I use something like Select Pine from HD or Lowes?

Q2) I have found some Posts (supposed to be used as stair railing posts) but they have the 'cylinderness' to them. Do you think it would be appropratie to use them as the bed posts? (they come in popular or oak again would go with popular since it is cheaper and they come in two sizes so could use big ones for headboard and the smaller as posts for footboard)?

Q3) Anybody with experience making a headboard that has any advice?

Thanks for any input and thanks to those running this site

David L.

Larry Rose

New User
Larry Rose