Happy birthday to me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kirk

New User
Kirk
Hi Everyone,

I recently registered, and thought I would say hello. And, well, its my birthday!

I live in Cary, and work in RTP. I'm married with 2 kids.

I have not completed anything significant yet, but have an interest in arts and crafts style furniture and usable/functional items (i.e. cabinets & bookcases). I have been doing mostly home improvement stuff lately.

I am just getting started, so I don't yet have a full compliment of tools, but I do have the basics (table saw, router, circular saw, hand drill). For my birthday, I bought myself a dado blade. I think my next big purchases will be a planer and then a jointer, but I would like to learn more before I make those purchases. I am also interested in eventually getting a band saw and building a router table.

I have lurked here for a while, but also hang out at BT3Central and occasionally Lumberjocks.

I'm looking forward to learning from everyone here!

Kirk

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Welcome aboard and happy birthday. Feel free to jump in at any time.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Kirk, and Happy Birthday :eek:ccasion1 You sound just like almost everyone of us at some time...I didn't have many tools until I made them or bought them, either. You can learn a lot from folks here and everyone is always willing to lend a helping hand. So jump in with both feet, the water is fine.
I look forward to your input in the forums, and hopefully seeing some pictures of your work when you get some.

See you around!!!

Dave:)

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
Greetings! Glad so welcome you on such an asupicious day! Happy Birthday too!

Sounds like you are well on your way to a case of WGD (Wood Guy Disease), rest assured you will be able to find and solicite tool opinions on the site.

To quote your namesake/avatar a bit of woodworking wisdom: "Your duty, does not include stepping into a disintegration machine."

Jim