Embarrased newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

scompton

New User
Scott
Hey, I need to introduce myself.

I'm a young'n still I suppose, currently 23. I was born and raised in Oxford, NC in Granville County. I graduated from NCSU in Technology Education and teach Middle School Technology in Holly Springs. Some of you might meet me there, I know there are a few of you in the area. :icon_thum We have a wood shop there that I use to show students safety and how to make pens/CO2 cars/rockets. I have to admit though, I don't feel much like a woodworker. :embaresse

My experience includes making boxes, shelves, model cars, gliders, pens (not that great at those even), and random parts needed for when I was in college. I know my basic tools and such, but feel more intimidated at thinking of turning large wood to make bowls. I have some videos, but my experience so far has taught me that it is hardly ever as easy as it looks and that you can make some expensive mistakes. :cry_smile

At home, I have a drill press, dremel, and some other basic hand tools. A lot of my time is spent also working on making DIY electronics for audio which can include lots of great wood projects like speaker enclosures, audio racks, headphone cups and holders, even fine amplifier and other gear enclosures. I'm very interested in including more of these type projects to help me gain some more experience to also help me do more when I teach, so I hope I can make the most of things here.

As always, safety first and thanks for having me.

lottathought

New User
Michael
Welcome....
Hey..many days I feel WAY outclassed by some of the talent on here.
I make plenty of OOPs!!!!
The good news is that most people here are more than willing to teach their craft.

A very skilled woodworker once told me however...it is not the mistakes you make, it is the skill that you use to hide them that separates a regular woodworker from a Craftsman.

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason