Delta Bandsaw upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I am doing something I have never done before based on Insomniac writing about his Rikon bandsaw. I am going to throw out a post on upgrading a bandsaw.

Here is the deal. I have had a Delta 28-245 open framed 1/2 horsepower bandsaw with riser block for about 10 years. I bought it new, and thought it was a pretty good machine until I tried to do some resawing, and boy, that was a joke. I finally decided I wanted to either buy a new saw or upgrade the one I had, but I went back and forth and back and forth trying to figure out what to buy. The Delta 18 inch looked pretty shabby to me and I wasn't real thrilled with the Jet 18 either so I started looking higher end towards the MiniMax, Agazzani, and Laguna's. I just had a hard time thinking about spending $2500 on a bandsaw when my largest single tool purchase to date has been a Performax 22-44 Pro for about $1800. Would I use it enough and could I really justify it. I got so bad on looking at these things the LOML was going to buy me one for Christmas, but I changed my mind so much that she gave up. I finally decided to "upgrade" my saw after reading too much of Iturra Designs catalog and old FWW articles.

I began by building a new base/cabinet for the saw. 1 1/2 inch thick birch plywood with two drawers (still making drawers) and planned to leave the motor out back. My father bought me a new 1 1/2 HP motor so that was a done deal, I bought a Kreg fence and 7" resaw guide, and a few other odds and ends. Now the fun starts.