Black walnut tree

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen Rager

New User
Karen
Hello, my name is Karen, and I just joined. I have been working with wood for ~ 20 years. I have made things from incense burners, to boxes (small and large) to pieces of furniture. I love to smell wood, hold it and work with it. Enough about me.

I wanted to let others know that an elderly friend of mine wants to remove a mature black walnut tree from her front yard. She doesn't have the money to have it removed. I immediately thought of the price of black walnut if purchased. I know there are people that will not only cut the tree, but pay her for it (she got a $422 electric bill last week!). She lives in Alexander county. Anyway, if anyone knows of someone that does this type of thing, would you please let me know. Thanks, Karen.

Dragon

New User
David
Hi Karen and welcome to the site. I just sent you a PM about that tree. A lot depends on the location of it in relation to existing structures and utilities, condition of the tree itself, length of trunk free of twists, etc. Anyway, welcome again and we look forward to seeing some of your workings.

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Welcome to the site Karen. :eusa_clap:eusa_clap:eusa_clap I love black walnut, but don't have the means to get it down and out of there. But there are definitely others on here that do. Feel free to post often, this is a great group of folks. :icon_thum

Kyle

New User
Kyle Edwards
Depending upon size, condition and location yard trees can be good or bad, mostly bad. Not attempting to be a negative Nellie, just experience and dozens of tree removals from yards.

Insulators, crescent wrenches and mostly fence nails are the culprits that cost a sawyer money.

Here is a primer of the economic cost of removing a tree.

1- Visit to see if tree is worth removing
2- Time to cut down the tree, delimb, clean up and haul usable trunk away.
3- Cost for the tree if valuable.