Big Al

Status
Not open for further replies.

Al Millman

New User
Big Al
:wsmile:Hello everyone,
I am new to this forum stuff and hope I am doing it right.
I am retired from the NC Community College system after 17 years as an instructor and I am enjoying the retirement time.
I have been woodworking for about 2 1/2 years. I work at home in my 20x22' garage which is not very popular with my wife except that what I make is what she has asked me to make for our very small craft business. I have to share the space with my 4x8' trailer that we use to haul all of our show equipment and products. Our property owners association will not let us keep the trailer outside on the driveway, these people are too up tight about some things.
I make small things but a lot of them. We sell a step stool that is very popular it is 11"wX8"hX8"d, it's small but we sell about 15 to 25 at each craft show we do, and we do about 12 to 18 shows a year. I also make small chairs and other simple wood products that are painted and then my wife paints designs on all of the different products. My wife also paints glass Christmas ornaments. I try and use the best wood I can, I use clear or better Southern Yellow pine. I am having trouble finding the wood right now. Does anyone have a source for SYP that I could check out? I might consider using poplar as long as the price is right and the wood is flat and straight. I use 1x8 and 1x10 sizes. I would love to stock up on some wood but I don't have room to store much.
:icon_scraAlso, I am thinking about buying the DeWalt TrackSaw so it will be easier to cut up the sheet goods that I use, does anyone have any suggestions on where to purchase and how much to pay for this saw?
I look forward to hearing from you all, and thanks in advance.

CaptnA

Andy
Corporate Member
Hey Al and welcome
Get ready to hear it and I may be the first - we like pictures...