Asheville area - new member

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToolNut

New User
Damon
Hello.

Been meaning to join you all for a while, but life keeps getting in the way.

My profession is in the non-profit world, but woodworking keeps me sane. I have a small shop (half garage attached to the house) with way too many tools for the space and a random collection of wood waiting for time and inspiration. Just finishing up a book case that made use of some 5/4 oak veneer plywood scraps that I got from my dad. Have almost finished building a router table. Made a hobby horse for my daughter last Christmas from a pattern that has been in the family for a while, and a few other little projects here and there. The only truly 'fine woodworking' project that I have completed is a shaker hall table that I did as part of a class at the Connecticut Valley School of Woodworking (great school by the way).

Moved to Asheville area in late 2009 for a job - but have lots of family here and family land high on the mountain. My cousin just bought a bandsaw mill, so am hoping to harvest, saw and dry some wood for upcoming projects.

Most of my tools were purchased used, and I have done a lot of tool restoration to make it affordable. I spend too much time in Asheville Hardware for my own good - but there are worse habits I guess.

I'd consider myself to be an 'advanced amateur ' - I've studied/read about more woodworking techniques than I have ever used, and tend to get pressed for time and loose the attention for detail and TLC that are required for high end projects. As a father of two, quick and dirty seems to have taken over my life (The Kreg pocket hole set is my friend!).

I'm especially drawn to Shaker designs and would also like to try my hand at some green wood chair making and some more advanced turning.