1st Post

Status
Not open for further replies.

mockymock

New User
Mark
Hello,

Joined the site a couple of days ago and am finally getting some time to say hello. I'm new to woodworking but have spent about the last 6 months reading up on topics, tools, and other useful info from this site and others. Finally found a good deal on a table saw in my area (Richmond, VA) yesterday and wrestled it home (Ridgid TS3650 for $260). At least it's good for what I have in mind which is mostly furniture and homeowner projects. I've also ordered one of the less expensive Jet 10" Jointer/Planer Combo's (JJB-10BTOS) which I should receive before X-Mas. I've got a decent mitre saw, a Kreg K4 pocket jig, and some other various tools. I probably can't contribute much to the web site in terms of knowledge, but I look forward to learning! I tend to research things before I do anything, but I'm close to finally making some sawdust!

By day I'm a Civil Engineer - spend most of my time working on Airport related projects. As such, I've spent the last 11 years using AutoCad and can draw up just about anything in 3 D and render detailed pictures, etc. So I've drawn up my first project which I hope is pretty simple, a bunk bed for my 3 year old son. Wife is pregnant with a baby girl, and all of our furniture (and I mean all of it) is left over from our single days 9 years or before. Our coffee table still has the cigarette burn in it from my drunk college roomates! So I'm drawing up dessers, a murphy bed, a coffee table, kitchen table, and some cabinets!

If I can just get the wood to the correct dimensions and straight (which seems to be impossible at my current skill level) - I should actually be able to build something soon!

Thanks for the great site!

Mark.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Mark, I'm glad you could join us. I look forward to your input in the forums.