Woodworking with Marblewood

Status
Not open for further replies.

Big_Daddy_Oh

New User
Lance
2016-08-10 18.46.39.jpgIMG_1753.jpgIMG_1752.jpgIMG_1751.jpg2016-08-09 19.09.53.jpg2016-08-17 19.38.49.jpg2016-08-17 19.39.08.jpg2016-08-17 19.37.40-1.jpg2016-08-17 19.38.20-1.jpg

In the past year I have begun making a variety of keepsake boxes, experimenting with different joints. I ended up getting an Incra iBox jig and a Freud box joint cutter set. I have used this pair up on about three projects so far, working with Pine, Red Oak, and most recently Marblewood. I'm still a novice really, but I have had some good initial results, and find that, when you follow the instructions for set-up and use, you can get some pretty impressively square, uniform, and tight cuts.

My most recent project has been a keepsake box made out of Marblewood. I have never worked it before, and only discovered it while at a Woodcraft store in Raleigh. I was captivated by the amazingly beautiful grain and streaks of chocolate color swirling through the yellow wood. This wood is hard, dense, tight grain, and did I say hard?

The piece I started with was 1 x 5 x 36. I ended up re-sawing it to split into roughly 1/2 inch thick using my 10-inch table saw (Bosch 4100-09). I had to do multiple passes, flipping the wood end on end, before finally getting through. While this was hard to cut, my first realization that it is truly rock hard, was when I picked up my plane to knock down the small ridge down the middle left from the re-sawing. My plane just skipped across the wood surface and could not get a bite on the wood. I went lengthwise, cross grain, at a diagonal, and still had difficulty. Since I did not yet (I do now) have any cabinet scrapers, I used a pocket knife to spare it down, and then sanded like crazy.