Tac cloth

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom Dunn

New User
Tom Dunn
I recall, vaguely, having once read about making tac cloths.
IIRC, clean cloth was saturated and allowed to air-dry. They were soaked in either mineral spirits or linseed oli perhaps, I'm not certain.
Has anyone tried making cloths?
Would not rags so treated be a significant fire hazard over time?

JimmyC

New User
Jimmy
Tom,

I had a formula long , but CRS keeps me from recalling it. It was a little varnish thinned alot by mineral spirits. You dampened the rag with it a squeezed out any excess, the varnish caused it to be tacky. I stored mine in a ziplock bag, no air, no chance of combustion.

Jimmy:)

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
I'm no finishing expert like most of these guys, but I'd think you'd want to be careful and not use a WET tac cloth for any finish. Be sure it's only slightly damp. Too many woods will show a water stain. I've seen $600 mahogany doors ruined this way. BTW, is that the reason you use cheesecloth instead of old underwear? Of course, some of mine LOOK like cheesecloth when I throw them out! :lol:

sawman

New User
Albert
I have been using the micro fiber cloths which when dirty can be washed and reused. No problems with any of my finsihes.

Later,

Albert:eusa_snoo

jerrye

New User
Jerry
I have been using the micro fiber cloths which when dirty can be washed and reused. No problems with any of my finsihes.

Later,

Albert:eusa_snoo