Spray Toner- what's your favorite combo

Status
Not open for further replies.

redknife

Chris
Corporate Member
I'm working through different toner product combinations (where toner is dye mixed in a finish) sprayed using a 4 stage HVLP turbine. Can't say that I'm doing particularly well despite lots of practice, books, and videos. It looks pretty easy when Jeff Jewitt does it.
I have no experience spraying toner. So far, I have tried enduro-var, dewaxed shellac (2# and 1# cut from flakes), Sealcoat, target coatings em1000 full strength and 1:1 dilution. I've used Transtint for the dye in all cases. I've had unique challenges with each approach and there are a lot of variables for me since it is new. I think I'm settling on a 1# garnet shellac with dye as a toner for the first coat in my current project. Topcoats will be target em8000. I don't often dye or stain my projects but would like to get better at this spray toner technique.
My questions are:
For those that spray toner, what products do you like to use? Any tricks that you've learned?

Phil S

Phil Soper
Staff member
Corporate Member
My favorite is super blonde shellac diluted to 1/2 pound cut mixed with transtint dye and sprayed on with a Neo/Iwata TRN2 air brush with .5 needle. Light coats. For big projects I would use a detail lvlp gun

Robb Parker

New User
Robb
I use ML Campbell Vinyl tinted with trans tint for toning and shading. Sticks to anything. Can top coat with anything.

Willemjm

Willem
Corporate Member
Depending on the size of the article and how much color is used, mixing Transtint with a finish can be a challenge. The issue is where your spray passes overlap, you will always get darker shades in the overlap area. If you are spraying something small, without large flat areas, success is a lot easier.