Should router be my next buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GrantW

New User
Grant
edit: obviously i mean "router" and not "rounter" :)

As a beginning woodworker, I am struggling with the decision as to what power tool to buy next. My first new tool I bought was a jig saw, and I kind of regret that choice. Cutting straight with it is a major challenge, and I don't have anything right now to clean up and straighten the edges very well.

As I understand it, a router can do a lot of things that specialty tools can do...like straighten edges. I have my eye on the Bosch combo model (static and plunge base)...anyone have experience with it?

In what ways can a router substitute for other tools? In other words, what can expect to be able to do with it other than cutting grooves and shaping edges? Recommendations for a router table would be nice to have too.

Thanks,

Grant

Last edited by a moderator:

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Grant,

I took care of the misspelled word in the title for ya. :icon_thum I'm sure you'll get tons of recommendations, however, if I understand you correctly, I think you're just trying to get clean edges? Do you have a table saw? I would go with a table saw and a nice sharp blade for straight cuts. That should provide you with nice clean cuts.

A router can also do many things. Edge profiles, rabbets, mortise and tenon joinery, etc. Definitely a great piece of equipment to have, but if you want to get the cuts right the first time, you might want to go with a table saw.... :eusa_thin Looking forward to seeing other responses.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
The router you get is going to require a variety of bits to be useful. You can use a router to straighten edges (jointing), make dadoes, grooves, rabbets, and edge treatements. Adding edge treatments adds a whole new realm of possibilities.

What other hand and power tools do you currently have? You mention a jig saw, but any others?

GrantW

New User
Grant