Router Table Fence advice sought

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrianBDH

New User
Brian
I am in the process of building a router table between my table saw fence arms.

I have the table finished but not mounted yet. Need some advice on the fence.

My table looks a lot like the one DaveO posted a few years ago. I glued a 3/4 piece of Melomine to a 3/4 piece of MDF then banded it with 3/4 x 1-1/2 pine.

I went super cheap on the insert and used a 1/2" thick UHMW cutting board for the insert. It is dead flat and I wanted a larger than commercially available insert. My B&D plunge router won't fit up through a 12" opening very easily, so I went 14 inches. Also, becuase I am not very good with a hand-held router (hence the table project) I cut the hole for the insert with my table saw. Just got it positioned right and raised the blade up through it. A little over-cut in the bottom, but who cares? Then i used some 3/8 pine strips glued/bradded in place for a support shelf for the insert. I was able to get it dead flush by doing this upside down on a piece of flat Melomine. Very happy with it.

I have dado'd for miter track across the front for a miter gauge, and t-tracked on each side for the fence. I understand the t-track may collect dust, but I cant get a clamp on the edges because of the TS fence rail arrangement.

Now for the fence. Again, like DaveO's fence, I will have 2 sliding wings. I have 12" of miter track to install on the upper face of the fence to hold feather boards. My real question is this (sorry it took so long)...

Should the track be mounted centered over the bit, or biased slightly to the right? Maybe the better question is, Where is the most effective place to use a feather board? Should it be directly over the bit, or should it be just prior to the work? Do I need a feather board on the "outfeed" side of the work also? at all?

What can you router table experts tell me about the best place for featherboards, and hence the miter track?