Rikon Lathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

kclark

New User
Kevin
I went to Woodcraft today in Matthews to pick up a couple of things and also walked out with this Rikon lathe.

I didn't need it, but I felt that it was a good deal and I have been wanting to get a lathe to piddle with it. I felt I couldn't walkout without for the price. Reg. $429 and it was a manager's special for $299. I can't do big cake platters and bowls, but I am just getting started. What really got me sold on it was that it was variable speed.

Do you guys think I should keep it or take it back? I also need a suggestions for some starter tools for it. I will try my hand at some pens and small bowls, ice cream scoop and the like.

pcooper

Phillip Cooper
Corporate Member
I think I'd take it back...before you end up like me with three of 'em. My son and I keep all three busy with projects...it is a very slippery slope to the dark side of turning...heavy dose of woodguy disease!!!:gar-La;

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Can you suggest a set of starter knives for it. Thanks

The Windsor Design 8-piece set from Harbor Freight are great for starting out. Not too expensive and you get to experiment with sharpening technique without the risk of ruining some very expensive chisels.

8 Piece High Speed Steel Wood Lathe Chisel Set

I have been using a set for about 4 years or so and they are just fine for me.

As you become more proficient with the lathe, you can upgrade the particular chisel that you commonly use in this set with a better branded turning tool.

Wayne

kclark

New User
Kevin
The Windsor Design 8-piece set from Harbor Freight are great for starting out. Not too expensive and you get to experiment with sharpening technique without the risk of ruining some very expensive chisels.

As you become more proficient with the lathe, you can upgrade the particular chisel that you commonly use in this set with a better branded turning tool.

Wayne