Posting Policy - Draft

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
Rob and several others have suggested that I write "posting policy". This is my first attempt at one. Please review and post your criticisms, suggestions, etc, in this thread.

And to insomniac, thank you for the first 2 sentences.

General Policy

The primary intent of the forums and other places on this website where members can post comments is to provide a welcome, relaxed atmosphere where people can feel comfortable posting questions and suggestions without fear of abuse from other members or the staff. We will not tolerate attitude problems or harsh comments.

Content Review

The primary duties of the moderators and administrators are to provide assistance to members and help maintain the structure of information on the forums so that members and guests can find the information they are looking for. That is why on occasion you will see threads moved, split or merged. This is not to be construed as criticism, but routine housekeeping. The moderator’s and administratorsprimary function is not that of a censor.

However, because moderators and administrators read almost every post on the site, they occasionallycome across posts whose wording, style, or content may be counter to the above General Policy of this site. In these cases, they will attempt to take a proactive action. This can range from a simple Pivate Message asking you to reconsider your wording or adding/changing a smiley placement, to editing your post, or perhaps even making the post "invisible" until its wording can be clarified. In all cases, a PM is sent to the poster advising them of the action taken.