Opinions on circular saw laser

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I don't have that one, but I do have an add on version for a DeWalt mitersaw that I used to use.

It made the blade offset in my saw so that was annoying. The one I have is two parts, one on each side of the blade. It only comes on when the blade is in motion and the guard is open (meaning the saw is partially down). Overall accuracy, was fair. I felt that I can do better just by bringing the blade down and eyeballing it.

Do note, my comments are for one style/brand of aftermarket laser. I have no experience/knowledge of the units that have built in/integrated lasers.

PS - Note the fact I said I used to use.

ErnieM

Ernie
Corporate Member
I have a built-in laser on my saw - I never use it. I find my eye following the laser instead of the cut line. Most annoying.

Ernie

SGalley

New User
Scott W. Galley
I bought the Irwin version. The line was to the left of my miter saw blade, but left about a 1/32" gap. Also, you can't see it when working outside during the day, so you better work the night shift:wsmile:

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
I bought the Irwin version. The line was to the left of my miter saw blade, but left about a 1/32" gap. Also, you can't see it when working outside during the day, so you better work the night shift:wsmile:
+1

Matt Schnurbusch

New User
Matt
+1
At first I liked the laser. But only being on one side of the blade, and having to adjust for it being off the line is major PITA!

smitty62

New User
Dick
First of all, I need to apoligize for a misstatement--I meant to say a table saw. Why I said circular saw is beyond me-I'll blame it on senility for now. No, I don't make boxes with a circular saw!!:embarrassed: THAT would take some skill! (No pun intended) The comments re the miter saw are pertinent though. Has anyone used one on a table saw?
Dick

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member