New download - Boring system drawings

Status
Not open for further replies.

Handturnedbowls

New User
James Holland
I looked a long time to find what I deemed the perfect boring system. There are plenty out there, but none fit my bill. I have 23 yrs experience in tool and die, machining and engineering so I am quite picky on that aspect.

I decided to design one that met my criteria:

- Heavy enough to absorb the worst vibration
- easy to manipulate with no strain on my bad back
- flexibility in cutting access and tool shapes

I have made and am using this system, and the design allows you to purchase low cost 1/2" square Cobalt tool bits and grind them to any shape I want and use with this boring tool.

It is extremely heavy, but the design allows it to glide effortlessly with only a few fingers and make heavy cuts with only a light pressure.

Depending on your tool grind, you can make a cut so smooth you will not have any desire to sand the inner walls.

In addition, you can use 1/2" bar stock, and mount carbide tool inserts on the end as a cutting bit as well. I use a 1/2" round carbide insert with a 15° relief angle. This bit will hog out curls 1/8" thick if you want it to, and still leave a wall smooth as silk.

You can view this drawing as is, in pdf format and download it. But please do not print, sell the pdf or print, or manufacture this boring tool without permission from me. This is a copyrighted work, and a fee must be paid for these privaleges. Dont worry its very modest.

Fabricating this tool requires a metal working lathe, and sheet metal tool work. If you cannot obtain these services or have use of this type machinery please dont request to pay the end user fee, it will be a waste of your money.

cad

DaveO

New User
DaveO