Need advice on Pen supplies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Badabing

New User
Joe
Merry Christmas to everyone! I hope the holidays are truly wonderful this year for you all.

I've made a big hit with my pens and bottle stopper gifts this year. So much so, that I think I'll keep making them :eusa_danc Since I'm new at this and just getting the hang of it, I could use some good advice.
Where is the best place to buy supplies? Does everyone carry the same kits? It sure looks that way from what I've seen but I've been told otherwise and that I'll need to buy the matching bushings for different manufacturers' kits.

I've been getting everything at WoodCraft and I know there has to be a less expensive alternative online. I just want to be sure I'm getting quality stuff. Some of the WC kits are not as good as I expected. For example, I made a click pen and the mechanism jams every third click :-x. I'm pretty sure it's nothing I did wrong and just a lousy kit.

So any recommendations would be greatly appreciated :-D

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Dang it, I just had a long narrative on the different kits and mis-clicked picking up a link and lost it all.

PSI - http://www.pocwoodworking.com/
http://www.woodturningz.com/SlimlinePenKits.aspx

CSUSA - http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/

Berea - http://www.arizonasilhouette.com/
http://www.bereahardwoods.com/new/

Hut - http://www.hutproducts.com/

Those are the main players in the market. It has been said that PSI is the bottom in quality, I've used many of their kits and have found them to be fine.
CSUSA is generally regarded as one of the best.
I get most of my kits from either the two PSI re-sellers I linked or AZ Silhouette. Depending on the type of kit I need. AZ Silhouette always rocks with a freebie blank. Ryan from Woodturningz is very helpful and they ship faster than Santa delivers presents.