jatoba

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkpinsc

New User
Tod Parks
I'm working on a wood gloat about some eastern white pine, cypress, heart pine and jatoba.

I have some experience with the first two but am concerned about the Brazilian Cherry. This stuff has all been in storage about ten years after a shop closed, supposed to be a total of 600-800 feet.

Any ideas about the value, and the workability of the jatoba?

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
Got Carbide?
Got a friend who sharpens Carbide?
You'll need both. Makes a beautiful deck.

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Jatoba is beautiful wood. It is very hard and will wear and tear on your blades, but it will also hold up very well over time. I made this king-sized platform bed out of it a few years ago. Since then, I sold the bed, but haven't heard any complaints from the buyers.

pics_484.jpg

I finished it with Tung Oil and it really popped the grain.

bed_049.jpg

This nightstand is also made from jatoba and curly figured maple (veneer).

abc.jpg

I managed to hang onto it, although it doesn't match anything else in the house now. :dontknow:

Overall, it will destroy your blades and router bits, but it is a truly beautiful wood and IMHO, worth the wear and tear on the blades. :icon_thum

Mark Stewart

New User
Mark
I have worked some with the brizialinn Cherry. It will bring sparks from a table saw, and it has a funny dank kind of smell. it does however make lovely out of doors stuff and last a long time. The jatoba is really pretty wood when it is finished
jabota_bowl.jpg

Sorry its a bit fuzzy but it was taken with the old camera.

Thanks Mark

MrAudio815

New User
Matthew
If you get 600-800 BF of Jatoba, You are one LUCKY Man, I love the stuff...It is very beautiful and nice and HARD.

Would love to take some off your hands of course, Maybe a pen blank though as I live in Utah.

Have fun with it whatever you do.

cskipper

Cathy