Hello & Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnW

New User
John
Hello, my name is John Whittaker. I was referred to NC Woodworker by Ed Nelson (Thanks Ed) and had the pleasure of meeting a group of you guys at a breakfast several weeks ago. I live in Charlotte, NC and enjoy woodworking so I guess I qualify here. But judging by the work I see posted, I'll be doing more learning than teaching on this site.

I grew into woodworking gradually over the years. My father was a finish carpenter before WWII and mom liked to refinish furniture. So I got "basic training" from my parents. I'm relatively new to serious hobby woodworking and have equipped a modest garage shop with most of the basic tools. My woodworking interest include making furniture for my adult kids, and what I call "artistic wood". I'm developing mixed media projects that will incorporate wood with a combination of glass, tile and/or clay. I am also building my first guitar from a Martin kit. It's almost finished and I'm anxious to hear it for the first time.

I'm married to a wonderful woman who has always supported my woodworking habit. In fact, the guitar kit was a surprise present from her. We are empty nesters with two children (boy/girl)...and currently busy planning daughters wedding this April. We moved to Charlotte from West Virginia almost 20 years ago. North Carolina was a choice. We decided that the chemical valleys of WV was no place to raise our children so for 2-years we spent weekends traveling to different cities and states in order to pick our final "home". We chose the Raleigh and Charlotte areas. The first place I got a job was to be our new home. We have never regretted our decision.