Dye on Hard Maple

Status
Not open for further replies.

TV

New User
Todd Vaughn
I am working on a projected for a friend of mine and he want to dye maple (actually he said stain) to an almost black finish. I have never used dye's before and am looking for some direction. If anyone has a suggestion for finishing books that revolve around dye's, that would be appreciated. The color will be matched to a piece of furniture that already exists.

Thanks.

tv

Vanilla Gorilla

New User
Marco Principio
David Marks ebonized maple for the base of a cherry bookcase once. It came out really nice. He said something about dye fading over time, so instead he used metal acid dye to blacken the wood. I am not sure where to obtain the product, but I am sure someone here can get you started on the right path.

jack briggs

New User
jabguit
Follow DaveO's link to Homestead Finishing's site for TransTint dyes - they're the most colorfast (resistant to fading) and dissolve in any medium; water, alcohol, lacquer, etc. I use them often.

Cheers,

Howard Acheson

New User
Howard
The color maple to a relatively deep black takes two steps. Just using a dye will leave you with a gray color. After using the dye, most will apply a coat of shellac and then apply a black gel stain. That will give the best consistent deep color.

Now, as always, test out your plans on some scrap from your project. Go through the complete process including applying your planned clear coat.

nelsone

New User
Ed
Jeff Jewitt, who runs Homestead Finishing, has a couple books out. I have one and found it very helpful. I used Transtint on a library unit I built for some folks and it worked great in blending the maple hardwood with the maple ply I used.

TV

New User
Todd Vaughn
I appreciate the additional advice. I will be doing some more reading of Jeff Jewitt's books.

Howard, what is the difference with using a gel stain after the shellac and utilizing a tint in the finish after the shellac? Thanks

tv

DavidF