Drafting table suggestions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmishWarlord

New User
Mitch
I'm currently designing a drafting table.

It's going to have a top that is 4'x8'x1-1/2"

I'd like it to be lay flat and tilt up 90°.

The table top is going to be a torsion box with lead counter balance at the front.

The skirt the table top rest on will be 2.8' x 7.8' x 6"

The skirt will be positioned toward the back of the table top with 1' of table top handing over the front and 2" or so over hang at the back.

I'm planning to use piano hinges under the front to hold the table top to the skirt.

On the back I'm thinking about two floating boards with a slot and notches in it to position the table top at basic angles 30° 45° 60° and 90°.

Here are some pictures of antique drafting tables that I'm basing the design on.

I'd appreciate any advice you guys can give me on design or construction since I'm new at this.

Drafting%20table.jpg

Hardcharger14

New User
Steve
I have an oak industral drafting table out in the barn with 10 + years of barn dust on it. It was used by a electrical contractor to lay out blue prints. It is BIG. What ya got to trade?? No thrill of the build, just a lot of cleaning, sanding and finishing. Steve Mc in High Point

CDPeters

Master of None
Chris
Sound like you have a solid plan. I would build the torsion box top on as flat a surface as you can find, use 1/4" ply for the skins with a smooth malamine on the drawing surface. In a pinch to save money, you could also face the drawing surface with 1/8" hardboard (masonite).

C.

AmishWarlord

New User
Mitch
That sounds interesting. But I have some items I'm building this table around. One is my 1940's drafting machine and the next is a 48" roll paper dispenser.

Thanks for the offer though.

Mitch

KenOfCary

Ken
Staff member
Corporate Member