cherry question

smallboat

smallboat
Corporate Member
In my parents’ house are some furniture pieces they had custom built in cherry. Over the past 35 years the sun has bleached the surfaces that got daily exposure. Is there a way to bring the color back? I’m thinking about the way ammonia brings up walnut and don’t know if there is a similar process that could work here.

smallboat

smallboat
Corporate Member
It’s possible it is walnut. I’ll have to get a better look / photos next time. I’m no expert on wood identification. The unbleached areas look warmer in tone than I think of with walnut, but who knows what the original finish schedule was.

Robert LaPlaca

Robert
Senior User
Walnut can take on a lighter brown golden honey’ish tone with lots of UV exposure, not the usual dark brown that one associates with Walnut.

Last edited:

bbrown

Bill
User
Cherry gets a rich warmth with sunlight. Walnut gets a washed-out dull look. I put my cherry pieces in the sun sometimes to quicken the patina - it's a beautiful look IMO.

smallboat

smallboat
Corporate Member
Here are some photos showing the faded and unfaded areas.
IMG_7233.jpeg
IMG_7234.jpeg

first shows outside of one door and inside of the other. second shows outside of both doors with the lip of left door showing where it hasn’t been exposed to sunlight.
Any thoughts on how ot get the color back? or is this a job for stain at this point. There’s a shaker style buffet table in the same condition.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Wow, that almost looks weathered rather tans faded. I wonder if it is some other species that was dyed or stained cherry color?

I think your only recourse is to stain it at this point. You may try sanding first to see what the natural color was.

It could be butternut.

wndopdlr

wally
Senior User