Chain saw blade quality

Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodWrangler

Jeremy
Senior User
There are obvious differences in quality when talking about table saw or miter saw blades, so I assume the same holds true for chain saws ... but I don't know anything about them! What do I look for in a "good quality" chainsaw blade?:icon_scra

Dragon

New User
David
Now here's a post I can get my teeth into. I've been using chainsaws for many years and pretty heavily for the last two. I only buy Oregon brand or the Husqvarna brand for my saw. There is one other that I'd recommend and that would be Grandberg. http://www.granberg.com/ Their stuff is a bit pricey but the saw sharpener guide that I use by them is top notch. Like most things in life, you ask 10 different people, you're likely to get 10 different answers. :eusa_thin

The opinions above are mine based on my experiences. One of the biggest qualities for happiness with a chainsaw is a properly sharpened and adjusted chain.:icon_thum Dull and/or loose chains will drive you nuts not to mention the additional wear on your bar and saw.:BangHead: Another thing I do is avoid the "chain and bar oil" in the stores. It's expensive for one and whether or not it is impregnated with some super duper goodies that minimize friction, etc. isn't that big enough of a deal to me to warrant the extra cost.:dontknow: I go to Dollar General or Family Dollar and get the El Cheapo 30wt. motor oil. Been using that since 1978 and haven't "seen" any real proof that the high $$$ stuff is any better. YMMV

You asked........you got my opinions. Next...........

Ken Massingale

New User
Ken
I agree with David. I only use Husqvarna chain, which may well be Oregon made. A loose chain is a real bad thing, just because it's adjusted correctly when cold doesn't mean it will be during use.