Byrd Tool Shelix Cutter Head

Status
Not open for further replies.

JWBWW

New User
John
After reading FWW#223 "Tools & Shops Annual Issue" I have become very interested in upgrading my 20" North State "4-post" planer. Fine Woodworking likes the Byrd cutter head but I have read mixed commentary at Woodweb so I thought I would inquire here. Anyone using Byrd Tool Shelix? I'd love to hear from you... either pro or con or both. Thanks.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
John, I don't have the shelix head, but I did want to welcome you to this great site. We'd love to hear more about you and your woodworking. Would you mind going to the "Who We Are" forum and introducing yourself. And pics are always appreciated. :gar-Bi

Bill

Charlie

Charlie
Corporate Member
John, I purchased a Grizzly 15" planer 3 years ago with the Byrd Shelix head. I liked it so well I immediately installed a Byrd head in my 8" Delta jointer. I am not a production shop, but there has been a lot of material through both machines. I use a lot of bloodwood, purpleheart, etc. which are "hard". These woods have a Janka hardness of 2300 - 2900. Oak has a JH of 1360 for comparison. The cutters in these machines are still on the first (of 4) cutting edge. I figure I will turn all cutters in a year or two ( just for the herck of it). That means five years from one edge, times 4 edges = 20 years from a set of cutters. I can buy the cutters @ $2 each. That's $148 for 20 years of knives, or $7.40 a year. Can't do that with a straight knife machine. I can push a board across the jointer without holding it down to the bed. The cutting action actually pulls the board tight to the bed. I don't procees wood this way, but I do it to show someone how it works. When pushing a board across a straight knife machine the knives try to kick the board up. I have seen comments that the Byrd Head leaves ridges. I have yet to see any.