Best way to cut crown moulding??

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
I am close to the point in building of my wife's Xmas kitchen hutch where I'll be cutting the crown moulding for it. I have never done crown before :5dunce: and would rather not have to make to many practice cuts in $3.00 a l.f. moulding8-O I did by a cheap piece of MDF crown to practice with, but would still appreciate any advice on the subject.
The cuts will all be outside 90°, I know about coping for the inside cuts :-D
Also what is a good way to attach it to the top of a carcass. I was thinking of using 45° glue blocks, I would like to avoid using brads or pins if I can, it will be natural finished Red Oak.

TIA, Dave:)

jglord

New User
John
Dave:
In the past, I've cut crown molding on my chop saw using the crown molding stops. These hold the molding at the proper angle - i.e. the same way it will mount but upside down. By swinging the saw to 45 degrees the cuts work well.
If you would like you can borrow my set-up, it is at the store and you're welcome to use it. I won't be in the store until Friday and will bring the crown stops for my saw with me then. I have a 90 tooth blade mounted which yields very clean cuts.
PM me if you'd like to borrow it.

NZAPP1

New User
Nick
Dave I also have an adjustable crown molding cutting fixture you could use. You do have to cut it upside down and backwards. On a book case I built I ripped my own glue blocks you will need to figure out just what you need to fit your crown. I glued and brad nailed my glue blocks to the top using a short piece of molding to gauge it

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User