Bark Preservation

Bugle

Preston
Corporate Member
I was gifted a persimmon slab that is about 3 1/2 " thick and about 8 ' long. I plan on planing it down and making a mantle for my daughter. The bark has such character that I would like to preserve it if possible. I've never tried it before and would appreciate any suggestions. Here's what it looks like.

PXL_20230731_154905921.jpg

spitzerone

New User
Gary
I am interested in this subject as well. I believe you can save the bark by brushing it with several coats of epoxy. I have seen that done but I have no idea how that will hold up long term. I imagine because it will be a mantle and up high were it won't be knocked around it would be fine. But I too want to hear what other's think about that.

John Jimenez

JJ
Corporate Member
I haven’t tried but everything I have read and heard says that eventually it will separate from the slab eventually. Maybe if you encapsulated the entire thing in enough clear epoxy but then it would look plastic instead of the cool bark look. Good luck and let us know what you decide and the outcome.

Wiley's Woodworks

Wiley
Corporate Member
Use a pin nailer. You'll set it on a lower air pressure because the bark is softer. Using test scraps and get the nail heads to sink into the bark but not all the way through. If you pick your nail placements right you shouldn't even have to do any filler touch up; the nail heads will just disappear into the rough bark.

Finish the bark with a flat polyurethane, and be careful not to get the finish on the rest of the wood. Use a 1" brush and push the finish into all the crevices in the bark. The flat finish will keep the bark looking closest to natural. You'll probably want to go with a semi-gloss or satin on the rest of the mantle. Again, experiment on test pieces.

Roy G

Roy
Senior User