Another 3 phase question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MIKE NOAH

New User
Mike
After browsing one of the local salvage building centers that deal mostly with damaged freight a 20 in disc sander followed me home today. This unit is new but had been knocked over. I have been staring at this unit for over 8 months everytime I went in the store and even went to the trouble of looking up the cost of replacement parts. That's when I realized it was a 3 phase model (the rating plate wasn't visable at the time) and had pretty much lost interest in it as a result. Well the owner of the store kept on me for an offer and I made one, opps, on the trailer it went. The motor doesn't appear to be damaged at all, most of the 397 lbs falling over broke small cast pieces and a handwheel.
So here's my dilemma,
The unit is a PM DS20 3hp 3ph 9.8amps(IIRC) unit
Do I need a static phase converter, a rotary phase converter? Or since I am 3 ph challenged just buy WHM's replacement motor for their 2hp single phase DS20. Do I see myself requiring more 3 ph down the road?:no::dontknow: I quess never say never something else might follow me home.
Not matter what I do I think I'll come out okay money wise, well less than half price of a new unit. But it might spend a lil more time collecting dust rather than making it while I save up for a motor or converter.

If so all/any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Mike

tjgreen

New User
Tim