Advice requested for a hand plane

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
I am a somewhat novice at furniture making, altho I'm on the far sideof 50, and with the decreasing quality and rising costs of furniture-grade ply, I am building more out of edge-glued boards. The largest plane I currently have is a #4 Stanley that I inherited from my dad (at least 50 years old because I remember him using it that far back) . I have made a shooting board that works for edge gluing, but my current project involves panels 24 X 14' and several future ones will be up to 60" (length). I have managed to flatten my glue-ups with the #4, but feel my life would be much easier with a longer plane.
I intend to purchase or make a longer plane (I have a plane iron from an old wooden plane I found in my grandfathers basement thats 2 1/4" wide and is laminated (the plane iron is tapered and I still have the cap-iron but it still need some work to get the pits out of the iron). The wood body is badly chewed up on the bottom, about 16" long and has no tote or knob (the recesses are there but no evidience of fasteners to hold them.) and I would have to cut off about 1/2" thickness to remove the damage to the throat, as well as make a wedge, but I fear the sides would split out anyway.
SO, rather than recondition it, I will purchase or make something else.
My question is: what size would be best at this time for one plane (a #5, #6, or #7) to true up panels up to 24"wide and joint boards to 6'.
Or do I need two, and if so, what size irons should I buy?
Your august advice will be appreciated.
Go:lol:

Ozzie-x

New User
Randy
Hello Go,