26 years of dust

Kelly

Kelly
User
I am currently without a tablesaw while I await arrival of a new one. The absence of my old saw and its accessories gives me a chance to do some serious house cleaning, UGH !
Once I got started, I can’t stop. I moved everything else to give me open access to 2 sides of the shop. I thought I was pretty good about keeping my shop clean, but boy can that dust find a crevasse.
I vacuumed the walls, washed down with 409, then clean water. These walls have all my cabinets, so top to bottom will get 2 coats of the oil infused furniture and cabinet paint, Bright White Semi Gloss. Should really brighten up the shop.
Next, all the floors are concrete and will get a thorough wet mopping. Then the equipment is moved to the other side and I start over. My intention is to touch everything in my shop that is exposed to dust and clean it, and service my machines.
My point is, I have been using this shop for 26 years. It feels incredible to do that cleaning that we all say we “will get around to someday”.
Can’t wait to get my new saw and start all over again.

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
Awesome glad you are getting it cleaned ? yeah the dust goes everywhere. Btw, what saw did you end up getting ?

Also, if you clean the concrete up might be a good idea to seal the concrete. We use Euclid Everclear 350. The big advantage using a sealer on concrete is it makes the floor clean way easier.

Kelly

Kelly
User
I now have finished cleaning, painting, servicing, throwing out, organizing and in general, overhauling my shop with a new Sawstop. New laminate covered outfeed table, improved dust collection, new wash sink, mini split and air filter servicing, chisels sharpened, et al.
OMG does this feel good. But, it is too clean to use now. I don’t want to mess it up again.