Which Version of SketchUp for Beginners?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barry W

Co-Director of Outreach
Barry
Corporate Member
I would like to learn SketchUp and after reading Mark Johnson's thread (here) which has several good learning resources, I have one question. Is it acceptable to begin with SketchUp Make or would I be better served to invest in SketchUp Pro?

Thanks.

Mark Gottesman

New User
Mark
Start out with the MAKE version (free) and see how far you get into it. You can purchase the PRO if you need ALL the features. I'm still using Sketchup 8 and am still learning all the little ins and outs.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
Definitely start w/ the free version. I've been using it for several years and find that I can do everything I need to design a project.

ErnieM

Ernie
Corporate Member
Let's see.... Make is free and Pro is far from free. The free version is all you will need - possibly ever.

Barry W

Co-Director of Outreach
Barry
Corporate Member
Thanks to all for your good advice . . . Free is good, especially when it gets the job done!:D

Dave Richards

Dave
Senior User
As the others have said, start with the free version. Make sure you download from the correct link. If you plan to use SketchUp for more than just your own personal projects, you should take a moment to read the EULA.

Most hobbyist woodworkers will find that SketchUp Make will cover what they need to do. There are features of the pro version that may be useful depending on your needs but as far as just drawing, there's little difference.

For those still using SketchUp 8 or SketchUp 2013, you should be aware that at the end of this month the web-based features will quit working because Google will turn off the redirects for those. See this link.

Jeff

New User
Jeff
I'm still using SketchUp v.8 because my vintage MacBook Pro can't support SU 2015 and that's okay for now. I seldom use 3D Warehouse but it'll still be accessible via an indirect link. Thanks, Dave.